The defenders of the tiger. Exemplary law-enforcement patrol efforts of the Ussuriisky Nature Reserve

22.02.2017

On February 21, the employees of the Phoenix Fund and ANO Wildlife Conservation Society held a quarterly meeting with law-enforcement officers of the Ussuriisky Nature Reserve and discussed the results of the patrol work with the SMART program.

(c) Phoenix Fund

It is worth mentioning that the Ussuriisky Nature Reserve is exemplary protected area in terms of anti-poaching protection. Small and friendly inspectors’ staff of the reserve spends days and nights patrolling the territory, giving offenders no chance to get into the protected area for illegal hunting. Every month the inspectors cover more than 500 km on foot and up to 2,000 km of roads by vehicles. These results are supported by the accurate data collected with GPS units, which are used by the teams during patrols since 2014, after the SMART anti-poaching monitoring program was introduced in the reserve.

(c) Phoenix Fund

The benefit of working with SMART, in addition to the convenience of patrol work monitoring, lies in the fact that people have self-control mechanism now– says the director of the Ussuriisky reserve Andrey Kotlyar. – It is obvious for everyone who and how many hours worked for. Old disputes between inspectors of Suvorovskaya and Komarovskaya teams stopped as the efforts of both teams received an adequate assessment in the bonus system. We plan to improve the SMART program further, bringing it to the most appropriate options in the current conditions of law-enforcement work in the reserve.”

(c) Phoenix Fund

The latest presentation of the results of anti-poaching work for the period from October 2016 to January 2017 was prepared and presented by reserve’s staff member Evgeny Ogorodnikov. After receiving training and getting help in reporting on SMART initially from the specialists of the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) and Phoenix Fund, Evgeny gained the necessary experience for the independent data entry and analysis. The resume of the presentation, which both the inspectors and the director of the reserve Andrey Kotlyar listened with great attention, became consistently high results of the patrol efforts. During four months, 41 administrative citations were issued. The majority of offenders were collectors of cedar cones, who were fined for more than 150,000 rubles ($2,500) in total. During the reported period, 52 traces of tigers’ presence were recorded in the reserve. In the conversation, the inspectors also confirmed that tigers make appearance more often lately. The reason for that is the increased number of wild boar which feeds on good cedar harvest this year.

(c) Phoenix Fund

Director of the Phoenix Fund Sergei Bereznuk thinks highly of Protective Service of the reserve: “In my opinion, the law enforcement staff of the Ussuriisky Nature Reserve is some of the most professional and experienced among the other protected areas in the south of the Russian Far East. Thanks to inspectors’ selfless, planned, and daily work the reserve’s territory is well protected from poachers and is a quiet home to numerous inhabitants of the Ussuriiskaya taiga. The latest SMART presentation confirmed this.”

(c) Phoenix Fund

Despite the excellent results of the law-enforcement service, there are many problems that the Ussuriisky Nature Reserve faces every day. And they all stem from a lack of funding. The reserve, which is historically under the jurisdiction of Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations (while other protected areas of Primorye are under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Natural Resources), experiences constant difficulties in obtaining funding to implement protection. The director and the team of inspectors, many of whom have dedicated years of their life to protection of the reserve and resident Amur tigers, use all possible resources to draw the authorities’ attention to the situation.

The staff of the Ussuriisky Nature reserve expresses gratitude for support of the SMART program to their partners – ALTA, Kolmarden Fundraising Foundation, Dreamworld Wildlife Foundation, Rufford Foundation, Wildlife Conservation Society, David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation and Phoenix Fund.

___________________________________________

Reference: in 2010-2011 the Phoenix Fund in cooperation with Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) and Zoological Society of London (ZSL) launched Management Information System (MIST), that was later replaced by its improved version SMART,  in four protected areas of Primorye located in main tiger habitat. SMART is a patrol management tool developed to support and improve anti-poaching activities. SMART is a GIS (Geographic Information System) that makes it possible to compare standardized performance indicators between teams, conservation sites and time periods and to view patrol efforts and results on conservation site maps.

Leave a Reply

Защитники тигра — защитники Отечества. Образцовая служба охраны Уссурийского заповедника

22.02.2017

21 февраля сотрудники Фонда «Феникс» и АНО «Общество сохранения диких животных» провели ежеквартальную встречу с сотрудниками службы охраны Уссурийского заповедника и обсудили результаты патрульной работы по программе СМАРТ.

(с) Фонда «Феникс»

Хочется в первую очередь отметить, что Уссурийский заповедник является образцовым в плане антибраконьерской охраны. Небольшой, но очевидно дружный инспекторский состав ООПТ проводит дни и ночи, патрулируя вверенную ему территорию, не давая нарушителям шанса проникнуть в заповедник для незаконной охоты. Ежемесячно инспектора проходят более 500 км в пеших патрулях и покрывают до 2000 км дорог на автотранспорте. Это подтверждают точные данные с приборов GPS, которыми группы пользуются  для фиксации рейдов с 2014 года, с момента внедрения программы мониторинга антибраконьерской деятельности СМАРТ в заповеднике.

(с) Фонд «Феникс»

«Польза от ведения СМАРТ в заповеднике, помимо очевидных преимуществ мониторинга патрульной работы, заключается еще и в том, что у людей появился механизм самоконтроля, — рассказывает директор Уссурийского заповедника Андрей Котляр, — Всем очевидно, кто и сколько отработал. Прекратились былые споры между инспекторами Суворовской и Комаровской группы, так как усилия обеих групп получили адекватную оценку в системе начисления бонусов. Мы планируем и в дальнейшем совершенствовать программу СМАРТ, приводя ее параметры к наиболее приемлемым в текущих условиях работы службы охраны заповедника».

(с) Фонд «Феникс»

Очередную презентацию результатов патрульной работы за период с октября 2016 по январь 2017 года подготовил и провел самостоятельно сотрудник заповедника Евгений Огородников. Пройдя обучение, и получая помощь в составлении отчетов по СМАРТ на первых порах от специалистов Общества Cохранения Диких Животных (WCS) и Фонда «Феникс», Евгений получил необходимый опыт для самостоятельного ввода и анализа данных. Итогом презентации, которую с большим вниманием слушали и инспектора, и директор заповедника Андрей Котляр, стали стабильно высокие результаты патрульной работы. За четыре месяца было выявлено 41 административное нарушение, большая часть нарушителей – сборщики шишки, на которых наложено более 150.000 руб. штрафов за причиненный ущерб. В отчетном периоде было зафиксировано 52 наблюдения следов жизнедеятельности тигров на территории заповедника. И в устной беседе инспектора говорили о том, что тигр встречается все чаще. Причина тому – возросшая численность кабана, который кормится на хорошем урожае кедра в этом году.

(с) Фонд «Феникс»

Присутствовавший на встрече директор Фонда «Феникс» Сергей Березнюк высоко оценил работу службы охраны: «На мой взгляд, инспекторский состав Уссурийского заповедника один из самых профессиональных и опытных среди других ООПТ на юге Дальнего Востока России. Благодаря их самоотверженной, планомерной, ежедневной работе территория заповедника надежно защищена от браконьеров и является спокойным домом для многочисленных обитателей Уссурийской тайги. Очередная встреча по программе СМАРТ это подтвердила».

(с) Фонд «Феникс»

Несмотря на отличные результаты в работе службы охраны, проблем у Уссурийского заповедника, пожалуй, больше, чем у любой другой ООПТ в Приморье, и как водится, все они проистекают из недостаточного финансирования. Находясь в ведомстве Федерального Агентства Научных Организаций, а не Министерства Природных Ресурсов как все прочие заповедники Приморского края, Государственный природный заповедник «Уссурийский» испытывает трудности с получением финансирования на обеспечение охраны. Неравнодушный директор и коллектив инспекторов, многие из которых посвятили не один год охране заповедной территории и обитающих на ней редких амурских тигров, задействуют все возможные ресурсы, чтобы обратить внимание властей на сложившуюся ситуацию.

Особую благодарность за поддержку программы СМАРТ коллектив Уссурийского заповедника выражает своим партнерам – благотворительным фондам ALTA, Kolmarden Fundraising Foundation,David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation, Dreamworld Wildlife Foundation, Rufford Foundation, Wildlife Conservation Society и Фонду «Феникс».

_________________________

Справка: в 2010-2011 гг. Фонд «Феникс» совместно с Обществом сохранения диких животных (WCS) и Лондонским зоологическим обществом (ZSL) запустили программу МИСТ (MIST  — Management Information System), позднее заменив ее усовершенствованной версией СМАРТ, на территории приморских ООПТ, расположенных в важнейших местах обитания тигра. Программа СМАРТ – это инструмент управления, разработанный для того, чтобы поддержать и усилить борьбу с браконьерством. Она основана на ГИС  (географическая информационная система) технологии и позволяет анализировать работу по патрулированию территории и оценивать ее, опираясь на показатели затраченных усилий и полученные результаты.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *